May 22, 2013: Christoph Neimann and a Pub Crawl

I didn’t bring my camera with me but it was a very interesting day. The group met with Christoph Neimann, an illustrator who has done a lot of covers for the New Yorker magazine. He was very inspiring and said a few things that I think will stick with me long after this trip. One of which is that to be a good writer you have to be a good reader, and to be a good advertiser you have to be a good consumer. This is an interesting concept because a lot of times people get caught up in trying to displaying their own talents when this profession is really about communicating an idea. 

Then we ate at Delores, a California-style burrito joint near Neimann’s office. Afterwards a group of about six of us decided to try a pub crawl where we paid 12 euro to tour Berlin’s pubs and clubs. We met all types of interesting people from Denmark, Australia, America, Canada, Great Britain and more. It was an awesome experience and it was nice to be shown where the good local spots are without having to search for them. We ended the night at a massive nightclub called Matrix. This trip is changing my life, and especially my perspective on the world around me. It’s very interesting to hear other people’s ideas of American culture. One guy we met thought that all Americans own guns, and that everyone in the South is a bigot. It makes me think twice about generalizing a group of people based only on what I’ve heard.

One thought on “May 22, 2013: Christoph Neimann and a Pub Crawl

  1. Jake,
    We are following you and your writings.
    Have a great time and We Love you.
    Grandpa & Grandma Black

Leave a comment